In an Effort to be a Healthier College Kid…

…I’m becoming pseudo-vegetarian.

Is there even such a term? I guess semi-vegetarian, or perhaps pesectarian are appropriate terms?

I kind of like the sound of “pseudo-vegetarian,” because the geek in me is reminded of the word pseudocode, which is related to programming. {Essentially, it is where you plan out what the actual, logical code will look like in English (aka human terms), but it is not written in a particular programming language with proper syntax.} Now then. What this does mean, for me, is that I will ensure that my diet consists of more whole grains and “natural” fruits and vegetables. I will eat little to no meat, because this works for me. I’ll probably consume chicken and turkey the most on a given weekday, but for the most part, I’ll stick to veggies, fruits, and grains. I will still consume dairy products and natural sugars. I’m also going to do my best to consume locally grown products, which means I’ll be hitting up the food co-ops more often. {I’m kind of a sucker for those places. :S}

Regardless of the semantics, I’m not doing this as a silly New Years’ resolution. You should already know how I feel about such matters. I’m doing this because well, pseudo-vegetarianism is what works for me the best. Personally, I don’t believe in full-on vegetarianism, and quite honestly, I’d miss chicken and bacon far too much to ever commit to being a pure vegetarian. I also don’t believe in veganism, but I’m not criticizing anyone else for choosing either lifestyle – rather, I just don’t think they’re right for me.

I’m doing this for several reasons: a) I want a healthier lifestyle to keep my weight regulated, and to help with my depression; and b) it’s generally cheaper for a poor college kid.

Alright. Obligatory explanations/disclaimers/yadda yadda yadda out of the way, let’s do some meal planning, shall we? I know what you’re thinking: since when did a foodie such as yourself become boring? Well, I don’t think that being a pseudo-vegetarian has to be boring, now does it? Nope. Below I’ve included what I’ll typically eat for breakfasts, lunches, drinks, and snacks. I will still be eating dinner in the dining halls, because unfortunately, I have a meal plan at college, and I cannot allow my parents’ hard-earned money go to waste.

Breakfasts:

  • Crisped rice with chocolate soymilk
  • Various types of granola with whole milk
  • Various types of granola with Greek yogurt, sweetened with honey
  • Oatmeal with applesauce and cinnamon, possibly with cut up bits of fruit {I’m using the apple sauce in lieu of some of the water, because I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal, and I’m hoping this will spice things up a bit.}
  • Greek yogurt with raspberries, blueberries, and pomegranate seeds
  • Whole wheat bagel with cream cheese, honey, and fruit

Lunches:

  • Couscous with tomatoes, feta, and spices
  • Falafel burgers {Falafel is surprisingly delicious; I never knew how yummy it was until I went to St. Louis and had some!}
  • Turkey, spinach, and cheese wraps on whole wheat tortilla
  • Crockpot vegetarian chili {There are no rules that say I can’t have a crockpot in a dorm, so booyah!}
  • Whole wheat bagels with cream cheese, and some veggies on top
  • Whole wheat pita bread with hummus, black olives, and fresh sweet peppers
  • Frozen broccoli, cooked in the microwave
  • Updated: Spinach feta blood orange salad {YUM!!}
  • Updated: Chickpea, tomato, and feta salad {Also delicious, healthy, and easy.}

Snacks/Lunch Accouterments:

  • Apple with peanut butter, almond butter, or Nutella
  • Dried cranberries/cherries
  • Greek yogurt with fruit and possibly honey
  • Mixed nuts
  • Dark chocolate {Sometimes with caramel, sea salt, and espresso beans. Yummy!}
  • Applesauce with cinnamon
  • Cheese sticks
  • Green pepper sticks and carrots with hummus
  • Whole wheat bread {from local co-op} and real butter
  • Oranges {Specifically blood oranges if I can find them; they’re delicious!}
  • Popcorn

Drinks:

  • Water with a lemon or lime {Citrus fruits really do add a nice zest to water, trust me!}
  • Coffee with cream and sugar
  • Unsweetened teas

That wasn’t so bad, was it? There’s plenty of variety, which truly is the spice of life!

Got any ideas for me? Let me know.

*ALSO: Stay tuned! I’ll be including how my lunches will look cute and fun in my new containers, assuming that my silicone cups arrive before I go back go down to school. *crosses fingers*

Leave a Reply

